around the states and back

This is my first blog post in…. forever.

I apologize, although you have probably forgotten that I even blogged by now!

I do have an excuse for the last week and two days though:

VACATION BABY!

My family and I took a road-trip.  We traveled from my mom’s hometown of Beavercreek, Ohio to Niagara Falls to Boston to NYC then back to our sweet southern home.  Here’s some photography of our adventure:

https://i2.wp.com/distilleryimage7.s3.amazonaws.com/60d3dbf8d53811e2aeb522000a9f14e4_7.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/distilleryimage6.s3.amazonaws.com/6d44518cd53911e2be0d22000a9f14df_7.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/distilleryimage9.s3.amazonaws.com/bab6c9a0d53811e2adac22000a1fbe03_7.jpg

So there’s your in-sight of that.  It was AMAZING.

My eyes were so opened on the trip in so many ways. Here are two things that I learned.

#1) He loves us all.

Growing up in such a small town I guess I have had a small view of the world, but the more I looked at Boston and the Big Apple, the more apparent it became to me how much seven-billion people is.

It’s a lot.

As I pondered the immensity of seven billion (this is the estimated amount of people on Earth), I began to question…

Can God still love me as much? I mean… that’s a lot of love to give.

Does He still have time for me and my prayers and my family and my church? I mean… that’s a lot to have on one plate.

The answer is yes.

He answers, “Yes, child. Don’t you see?  I know you by name. I am love… never ending.  I don’t change because there are two or seventeen-trillion people in the world. I just keep giving love and never run out.”

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!  And that is what we are! – 1 John 3:1

#2) He loves us still.

The more I studied the city life, the more it became apparent the reality of the depth of our sin.  Rich people, wanting more.  Poor people, begging for a bite to eat.  Lost people, searching for hope. Rude people, holding in bitterness.

And so I begin to question again:

How can He love this nastiness?  We have turned from His perfection.  Why would he long for our dirtiness?

And again he answers me, “Daughter, I don’t long for your dirtiness. I want to clean you.  I hate your sin. I can’t even look at it.  But I long for the person I made you to be.  I long to love you and clothe you in a beautiful white robe and turn you into the selfless person I have called you to be.”

He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.- Titus 3:5-7

I will pray for the people who read this, and please pray for me that we all realize that we are loved beyond all measure and that we live a life worthy of the calling we have received.

-Mary Madeline

Leave a Reply

